The Dallas Smythe Award is given in memory of one of the great pioneers of the study of the political economy of communications and one of the great leaders in the struggle for democratic communications.  At each conference, the Union for Democratic Communications honors a critical media scholar/activist whose work exhibits the spirit of engagement, democracy, teaching, and feistiness to which the UDC is committed.

Past recipients of the Dallas Smythe Award include Robert McChesney, DeeDee Halleck, Herb Schiller, Tom Guback, Santiago Alvarez, Vincent Mosco, Eileen Meehan, Janet Wasko, Ed Herman, Peter Phillips, and Manju Pendakur.

The steering committee is soliciting nominations for the next award, to be presented at the 2012 conference in Tallahassee, FL, May 10-12.

Please send your nominations to Jennifer Proffitt at by November 1, 2011. Please include a description of your nominee’s qualifications and accomplishments.


About udc2012

The Union for Democratic Communications is an organization of communication researchers, journalists, media producers, policy analysts, academics and activists dedicated to the critical study of the communications establishment, the production and distribution of democratically controlled and produced media and the development of democratic communications systems. UDC encourages critical perspectives in communication theory, media production, and the study of popular culture.

Posted on September 25, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: